First County Championship Titles of Season Decided

Killarney Sports and Leisure Centre played host to another great night of badminton as 6 titles were decided at the sponsored Division 1, 3 and 5 singles championship last Friday night (Jan 24th).

The first title of the evening went to the local club in Killarney with Sonia Smith defeating Eva Browne of Moyvane in a seesaw three set battle 21-18, 8-21, 21-11.

Kerry badminton legend Sheila Hannon was on hand to present the Sheila Hannon Perpetual Trophy to Sonia.

The biggest field of the night was the division 5 section for Men. The final two on the night were Paraic Murray of Causeway and Oisin Moloney of Listowel. To get to the final Murray had to emerge from two gruelling three set matches with fellow club man Joe Carroll in the quarter final which he eventually won in the third set 28-26. He then faced Mike Donovan of Annascaul in the semi-final in another tough three setter. Moloney meanwhile was coming through the other side of the draw in a more straightforward fashion. It was clear that Moloney was the much fresher man in the final winning 21-8, 21-7.

The Ladies Division 3 final was an all Killarney contest between Sam Hayes and Jeab Workman. Hayes easily won the first set 21-12 but Workman showed great spirit to come back and take the second set 21-16. The third set was a fight to the end but Hayes eventually came out on top 21-17.

The Men’s Division 3 final also proved to be a tight affair in what was to be an all schoolboy affair. Cathal Donovan of Annascaul came up against Division 4 player Jack McElligott of Listowel who took some big scalps on this way to the final. When McElligott powered his way to first set success 21-10 in the final it looked like a shock could be on the cards but Donovan kept his composure admirably taking the second set 21-14 before going on to win the title with a 21-10 win in the final set.

The Ladies Division One final was an eagerly awaited contest between defending champion Edel Kenny of Kingdom – Castleisland and the 2017 Champion Niamh O Flaherty of Moyvane. O’Flaherty came through a tough semi-final battle with Sinead Galvin of Killarney in three sets but could not match Kenny in the final going down 21/13, 21/9. This was Division one singles title number 7 for Kenny.

The Men’s Division One title was also to go to the Kingdom – Castleisland club. Tom Bourke seeking his 11th singles title the first of which he won back in 2006 came up against Fergal Hannon of Listowel who was playing his first Division 1 final. Whilst Hannon put up a good battle the result was never really in doubt as the more experienced Bourke eventually won his first singles title since 2016 21-17, 21-16.

A great night of badminton and at the end of it all it was apparent that those attending the grading meeting on behalf of the various Kerry clubs were so mesmerized by the action take took part that they didn’t know which direction to look.

Share this to